Good Friday: For All?

by James Jett

Faith hope and charity:

This is Good Friday and people are talking about Easter and with it Faith, Hope and Charity. Some add the words, good will to mankind. I have heard others say this is a joyful time for people of Faith. Listen to them you could think we are all the same, the same believes, serving the same God and praising the Rising Savior.

I hear all of this and I listen with some joy, but a lot of doubt and concern. This doubt and concern are because I see so many  people that put their life on the line in order to keep us safe. Make it possible for us to go about our daily tasks with little or no fear: In and out of shopping centers, food markets and eateries. And when something goes wrong there they are facing gun fire, standing between us and the bad guy, he wanted to hurt us, rob us or worst yet, take our child from us.

Therefore, when I wonder what they mean when they say people of faith, I really don’t understand whom they are talking about. No, I never ask them because it really is not my business to know. Maybe not in the way you are thinking, but, like, well, more in the vein of “swallowing and Elephant and gaging on a gnat.” My concern, first should be about me and what I believe. And I remain full of Faith, Hope and Joy, because I believe that Jesus is the Christ and he died for not just my sins, but the sins of the whole world.

Yes: God gave his only son Jesus to die for our sins!

Leave a Reply

