Get Paid For Unwanted Phone Calls?

by James Jett

Just who do we think we are? Calling people that we have never met and really care, nothing about their well-being, we just want to sell them something or ask them to send money to a fund or charity that we work for or receive money as aid or support. If it’s a person we met once or twice we feel free to call them any time and stay on the phone for hours if they will let, talking about something that will benefit us but probably be no help to them. The only reason you are calling this person in the first place is because you bought their name from a company or person that sell phone lists. Once they use the list, it\’s mixed with some other names and sold, well, rented to another person and they call that person and put them through the same time-wasting, life consuming efforts of responding to you or ignoring you while the phone ring!
I receive at least ten of these calls per day — well it\’s down to five now — because I will not answer calls if the (caller ID) show no name or number, (or just) private, unavailable, and sometimes only the number is visible. Even if you have the number you cannot find the name of the person that\’s calling you. I called the phone company and they told me it was a computer making the calls and they could not give me the name of the person that owned the computer, when I asked why not, they said it could be a firm or private business. On one call I talked with a nice woman and I told her that she was talking to the wrong person I do not buy storm windows for the house I live in that’s someone else\’s responsibility, she said her company bought the list. Wouldn’t your company make sure the names on the list at least owned the home or building that might need windows? She stated that she didn’t know because she just makes the calls, “that’s why they pay us big money for making the calls.” She also told me that she didn’t pick the phone up until someone answers on the other end.
After speaking with her I could decide who sold or rented my name to them, it started with me donating money to a candidate running for state office and he got defeated and they raised money by selling the lists of donors. Now I understand why you and I get all these phone calls. Most and in my case all (unwanted) phone calls. Yet everybody gets paid but us. I am going to work to change that, because we should get paid, after all, we not only answer the phone we give the service by making the monthly payments for the phone service. So here is my plan, to put at least three cents per call in each one of our pocket every month. Every call we receive, is paid  at the agreed to rate. This will be easy for the phone company to calculate because we will give a list of numbers that can call us, everybody else will be paying customers. We could opt to have the service fee credit to our phone bill or wired to our bank account quarterly. Since all calls are considered, all call must pay, we can opt to answer or not answer, the fee will be the same. Sure I will develop the details before I talk to the legislators about drawing up the enabling legislating. I know it will work because both family member and I receive $5. each time we complete a survey, every time it\’s a new unused bill. So I can assure you this will work or at least stop the rich from getting richer while the poor answer the phones. And yes I am aware that there are other people working on a similar plan maybe we will join forces!

Leave a Reply

