Tavis Smiley: Blacks and Others

by James Jett

Just getting some tasks out of the way so I can get some books read and make some notes for futures posts, when on C-span one night I stopped to listen to Tavis Smiley being interviewed by Brain Lamb. This prompted me to read Tavis Smiley’s book THE COVENANT, a #1 New York Times Bestseller: Introduction by TAVIS SMILEY. I received this book for fathers day and got as far as Page 12. Two people autographed the book, and if the second autograph is the person I am told it is, I could sell this book and make some money. I am not listing the person in this post because they didn’t know the book was for me, for that matter Mr. Smiley didn’t know it was for me he probably signed it because it was for someone’s father day! So now that you know this is not a book report we can tell you why I am writing this post. It will not mean anything If I recommend everyone should get a copy and read it, then use it daily in doing the things he recommended in the book. Unless you are someone like me that have had a health program since my 12th birthday violated at age 17 and again around age 42. At age 17 I ate the wrong food and at age 42 I ate too much of the right food. Yet even I can benefit by referring to the statistics recorded in the book and the other information about health, income, education and relations.

My problem is with the answer he gave to Brain Lamb: when Brain Lamb told him that usually you hold applauds until everybody has been introduced. This question was asked about a minute after I turned on the TV and after the answer I switched to the weather so I could plan my work in the garden the next day. So I heard only part of the question and all of the answer. And I still cannot understand the answer if Mr. Smiley said that he did not ask the Black people at the debate for the presidential candidates to hold applauds until all the candidates had been introduced, because Blacks are too emotional, that Blacks are emotional people and would not withhold the applauding even if he had asked them to do so. By training, experience and practice I totally disagree with him if he is talking about all Black people. If he is only talking about that small minority that has no respect for any rules or standards regardless to how long they have been in use and relied on to insure that procedures are fair and just, I agree with him because there are some Blacks and, for the records, other identifiable groups that have nothing going for them but their emotions and usually that is set on fight, flight or uncontrolled pleasure.

The large majority of us can honor a request, carry out agreed to orders and adhere to just laws. I am sure Mr. Smiley can do all these and do them well. In this country you don’t hold the positions he holds and enjoy being a millionaire like he is if you didn’t have some discipline. (I know he is a millionaire because he told Bill O’Reilly he had a million dollars.) When he appeared on the Bill O’Reilly Show some years ago, he said he had a million dollars and he knew where he got it from! . All most daily I hear about some procedure, some rule that Blacks will not adhere to: be it keeping themselves fit, eat the right food, taking care of the property they own or are buying. Yet those things can be said and is said about other identifiable groups and some times they are true. I am going to travel this country looking for communities, towns, cities, counties or in rare cases states where Blacks or other Identifiable groups live and hopefully control and compare them with the (SO call) majority standards. Because I am told that the Blacks track behind in most of them. Yet I went to Yazoo, Mississippi and stayed three night and visited the graveyard, church, school and the home of some of the residents, and yes I pass the jail where the border guards are serving their sentence and toured the downtown area. The whole towns were cleaned and polished including the graveyard where my Grandchildren’s Grand father is buried. (The other one) No police sirens, no trash on the streets of course they did have two reunions scheduled for that weekend!

Leave a Reply

