American Legion and Illegals Immigrants

by James Jett

I have been watching the processes in the efforts to get a bill pass by the Senators that would give amnesty to the illegal aliens: paying attention to the many senators that are determine to help these people improve themselves by becoming citizens in these United States. At the same time I am trying to find someone that can tell the VA (Veteran Administration ) that I did serve in the Korean War, in combat with the 187th Airborne Regimental Combat Team. And can state that they were present the day a puff of gray smoke blow dirt into my face and when we got to the supply tent the assistant squad leader said to me “your eyes are blooded you better see the Medic.” I need one of the men in that company to tell the VA that they remember when I returned from the hospital and we stayed on the front lines until December 1952.

The VA is working with me to determine if I am telling a lie, or the above did, in fact, happen. But the VA makes it very clear that I must locate someone that served in Korea with me or present some proof, once I give them the information they will decide if I should get classified as a veteran with a service related disability. My Army records was totally destroyed by fire in 1976, just ashes remained, (my navy reserve records are intact, I have a copy) so I can not prove that I went to the hospital for the same reason the VA can not prove that I did or did not go to Yongdung-po, Korea, and that Capt. Miller (Doc Miller) evacuated me and two medic drove me in a jeep to the hospital, Evac 21 or 421. Last week I mailed my medical history to the VA starting with age 16, till the present, with signed permission for the VA to get copies of my medical history to aid in proving or disproving my claim.

So seeing all those Senators working hard, debating, appearing on television trying to help the illegal aliens make me wonder why I can not get a mass group of elected officials to help me. What timing, just today I received an invitation to join the American Legion, correction, I received a Certificate of Nomination, that read as follow, “upon meeting the strict requirements set forth by the CONGRESS of the UNITED STATES shall thereby be accepted for official membership in the American Legion”. In my working years I belonged to server all male organizations that provided community service as well as personal development, membership in them proved to be a worthwhile effort. But I never joined a veteran’s group. With this invitation and the list of Korean Veteran Organizations provide by the VA, I will give membership some consideration. Maybe the American Legion can help me, they suddenly have the right stand as far as illegal immigration is concern. Here: this is what the American Legion say about illegal immigration.

Leave a Reply

